This step by step how to is intended to be a reference for those who are comfortable with working in terminals. This page lists all the commands on one place.


Step 0:

sudo apt-get update


Step 1: Installing Apache

sudo apt-get install apache2

sudo a2enmod rewrite


Step 2: Installing & Set up MySQL

sudo apt-get install mysql-server libapache2-mod-auth-mysql php5-mysql
sudo mysql_install_db

sudo /usr/bin/mysql_secure_installation

Follow instructions on screen.


Step 3: Install Ruby and Update RubyGems

sudo apt-get install ruby-full build-essential
sudo apt-get install libmysqlclient-dev
sudo gem install mysql2
sudo gem install rails
sudo gem install rubygems-update
sudo update_rubygems


Step 4: Installing Passenger and Configuring  Apache

sudo gem install passenger

Install Apache development headers, curl development headers with SSL support. 

sudo apt-get install libcurl4-openssl-dev libssl-dev apache2-threaded-dev libapr1-dev libaprutil1-dev

Configure Passenger for apache

sudo passenger-install-apache2-module

Follow the instructions on screen. You’ll get two sets of directives, one to be added to your apache config file and other to your Virtual Host directive.


Step 5: Installing phpMyAdmin (Optional)

Install PHP

sudo apt-get install php5 libapache2-mod-php5 php5-mcrypt

Install phpMyAdmin

sudo apt-get install phpmyadmin

Add the following line at the end of your /etc/apache2/apache.conf file

Include /etc/phpmyadmin/apache.conf